What Do Roles Mean: Owner, Assignee, Observer?


You can assign Employee or Administrator access level to each user in the Tasks application settings.


If a user has the Administrator access level, he/she has unlimited access to all tasks, even if he/she is not a participant, responsible or an observer.

Besides, the administrator of the Tasks application may change tasks’ owner which is not available to the assignee in his own task. The owner change can be useful when, for example, the manager does not have enough time and asks his assistant to set the target on his behalf.

Now, let’s talk on possible roles.

Owner

Task owner is a person who creates a task by default. The owner is able to make any change to a task or to delete it.

After completing a task by its assignee owner accepts it or resubmits it to revision.

Assignee

The assignee has limited access to a task and is not entitled to the following actions:

  • changing deadlines;
  • editing description and task priority;
  • editing CRM account connections or project/workspace connections;
  • making adjustments to the estimated time;
  • adding followers;
  • deleting a task.

The assignee is available to:

  • create/add a checklist of subtasks for structuring his work;
  • check finished options;
  • attach files;
  • set progress bar;
  • leave comments;
  • set time tracker;
  • set time the spent on performing the task manually;
  • fill-in report;
  • delegate task performing to another employee. In this case, he automatically becomes an observer in a task.

Observer

For performing a task, assignee often needs other area specialists or extra monitoring solution process. In this case, observers are assigned. Follower gets full access to information on task but is not entitled to make any change. All he is entitled to do is leave a comment.

As soon as an employee is assigned as an observer, he automatically gets a notification which contains a link to the task:

  • push-notifications to a web browser;
  • to his e-mail when a user is offline;
  • push-notifications to the mobile app.

After that, a task goes to his Follow folder.

An observer is always aware of the task progress. He gets notifications on new comments on completing and accepting a task as an owner and an assignee.

A notification on comments contain its full text and a username of his author.

If needed, a follower may react to a change in a task immediately—follow a link and answer a comment.