Task Roles: Owner, Assignee, Collaborator, Follower


You can assign Employee or Administrator access level to each user in the Tasks module settings.


If a user has the Administrator access level, he/she has unlimited access to all tasks, even if he/she is not an owner, assignee or a follower.

Besides, the administrator of the Tasks may change tasks’ owner, which is not available to the assignee in their own tasks. 

Now let's take a look at the task roles.

Owner

Task owner is a person who creates a task. The owner is able to make any change to a task or to delete it.

After completing a task by its assignee owner accepts a task or requires changes.

Assignee

The assignee has limited access to a task and is not entitled to the following actions:

  • changing deadlines;
  • editing description and task priority;
  • editing CRM account relation or project/workspace relation;
  • making adjustments to the estimated time;
  • adding followers;
  • deleting a task.

The assignee can:

  • create/add a checklist;
  • complete a task;
  • attach files;
  • leave comments;
  • set time tracker;
  • set time the spent on performing the task manually;
  • fill out the report;
  • delegate task to another teammate. In this case, he/she automatically becomes a follower of this task.

Collaborators 

Even if only one person can be responsible for a task, there are often several team members who can help in completing a task. Add collaborators to the task, they will get a notification and see the task in the “I am a collaborator” folder.

Collaborators have the same access rights to the task as assignees. They can move tasks to the next stage, create/add subtasks, a checklist, leave comments, set time tracker, change the deadline (if such an option is checked in the Task settings).

Follower

For performing a task, assignee often needs assistance from his/her teammates. The follower gets full access to information on a task but is not entitled to make any changes. This person can only leave comments to the task.

As soon as a user is assigned as a follower, he or she automatically gets a notification which contains a link to the task:

  • push-notifications to a web browser;
  • email notifications when a user is offline;
  • push-notifications to the mobile app.

After that, a task goes to I'm a follower folder.

A follower is always aware of the task's progress. The followers get notifications on the new comments on completing and approving a task.